Skip to content

Comparisons

Fully funded master’s and PhD scholarships for 2027: what each one covers (8 verified scholarships compared)

All 8 graduate scholarships we have verified pay tuition in full except HBKU master's programmes (75% or 60% waiver); only 4 official pages mention health cover and only KAUST includes housing outright. Deadlines run from 6 October 2026 to 1 February 2027.

Last reviewed by ScholarMENA Editorial Team

All eight graduate scholarships we have verified for 2027 entry pay tuition in full, with one exception: HBKU waives 100% for PhDs, 75% for STEM master’s and 60% for humanities, social science and policy master’s. Only four of the eight official pages mention health cover, and only KAUST includes housing outright. Deadlines run from 6 October 2026 (Chevening, Knight-Hennessy) to 1 February 2027 (HBKU, international applicants).

Every cell below comes from the provider’s own page. “Not stated” means the official page we checked does not mention the item. It does not mean the item is refused, and it does not mean it is paid. We re-checked coverage on the official pages on 24 September 2026. The last column shows the last-verified date of each record, and the table as a whole is only as current as its oldest date: 23 September 2026.

The comparison

ScholarshipTuitionLiving stipendFlightsHousingHealth coverDeadlineGate for Arab applicantsLast verified
Chevening (UK, master’s)CoveredCovered: monthly, London and outside-London rates; amounts not published on the pageCovered: economy return, scholar onlyCovered through the stipend (“accommodation and living expenses”)Not stated6 Oct 2026, 11:00 UTCEgypt, Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Sudan, Palestine, Yemen, Syria eligible. Saudi Arabia, UAE, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman not on the list. 2 years’ work (2,800 hours) and a 2-year return clause2026-09-23
Gates Cambridge (UK, master’s and PhD)Covered: University Composition FeeCovered: £23,152 for 12 months (2026-27 rate)Covered: one economy single fare at the start and at the endNot statedCovered: Immigration Health Surcharge8 Dec 2026 or 6 Jan 2027, 11:59pm UK time, by courseAny country outside the UK2026-09-23
Clarendon (UK, master’s and DPhil)Covered: course fees in fullCovered: grant for living expenses; amount not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCourse deadline in December or January, e.g. 2 Dec 2026, 12:00 UK timeNo nationality restriction2026-09-23
Knight-Hennessy (USA, graduate)Covered: tuition and associated feesCovered: living and academic expensesCovered: one economy round trip a year, plus a one-time relocation stipendCovered through the stipend (“room and board”)Not stated6 Oct 2026, 1:00pm Pacific TimeAll nationalities; first bachelor’s degree in January 2020 or later; admission to a Stanford graduate programme2026-09-23
Fulbright Egypt, PhD Joint Supervision (USA, one research year)Covered: university tuitionCoveredCovered: travel allowanceNot statedCovered: health benefits10 Oct 2026, no time statedEgyptian citizens living in Egypt and registered in a PhD at an Egyptian university2026-09-23
KAUST Fellowship (Saudi Arabia, MS and PhD)Covered: tuition and bench fees, up to USD 35,000 a yearCovered: USD 20,000 a year (MS); USD 25,000 to 30,000 a year (PhD)Covered: travel on arrival and on return home after graduationCovered: base on-campus accommodationCovered: students and eligible dependants living on campus3 Jan 2027 (KAUST calls its dates tentative)No nationality list. Students with external sponsorship may not be eligible2026-09-23
HBKU (Qatar, master’s and PhD)Partial: 100% PhD; 75% STEM master’s; 60% SHAPE master’s and J.D.; 0% LL.M. and MS EconomicsCovered: international students QAR 9,000 a month (PhD, 45 months) or QAR 7,000 a month (master’s, 21 months)Covered: one inbound and one outbound ticketNot covered: paid from the stipendNot stated1 Feb 2027 for international applicantsNo nationality exclusion; Qatari and Qatar-resident rates and deadlines differ. Stipend holders work 10 hours a week as research assistants2026-09-23
MBZUAI (UAE, PhD)CoveredCovered; the page lists AED figures without a unit, so we do not quote themCovered: one return airfare a yearNot statedCovered: health insurance15 Dec 2026, 5 p.m. GSTNo nationality restriction; STEM degree with CGPA 3.0 or 3.5 out of 4.0, by programme2026-09-23
Sources, checked 24 September 2026: chevening.org, gatescambridge.org, ox.ac.uk, knight-hennessy.stanford.edu, admissions.kaust.edu.sa, hbku.edu.qa, mbzuai.ac.ae. Fulbright Egypt benefits from fulbright-egypt.org, checked 22 September 2026.

What the table does not show

  • Taxes. Knight-Hennessy says its stipends are taxable and that it does not reimburse students for taxes (knight-hennessy.stanford.edu).
  • Dependants. Chevening’s cover applies to the scholar only (chevening.org). Gates Cambridge lists discretionary support, including a child allowance. KAUST’s health insurance covers eligible dependants living on campus.
  • How you are considered. Clarendon, KAUST and HBKU have no separate scholarship form: you are considered through your admission application. Chevening, Gates Cambridge and Knight-Hennessy each ask for scholarship-specific answers or essays.
  • Duration. Knight-Hennessy funds up to three years. HBKU stipends run up to 45 months (PhD) or 21 months (master’s). Fulbright Egypt’s Joint Supervision grant covers one academic year of research in the U.S.

Our advice: for any “Not stated” cell that matters to your budget, email the provider and ask before you accept. Keep the reply; it is the only written answer you will have.

Questions and answers

Which of these scholarships includes housing?

Only KAUST includes base on-campus accommodation outright. Chevening and Knight-Hennessy describe their stipends as covering accommodation or room and board. HBKU says housing is paid from the stipend.

Does Gates Cambridge pay the UK Immigration Health Surcharge?

Yes. Gates Cambridge lists inbound visa costs and the Immigration Health Surcharge among the items the scholarship covers.

Do I need a separate application for Clarendon, KAUST or HBKU funding?

No. All three consider you through your admission application: Clarendon if you apply by the December or January course deadline, KAUST for every admitted student, HBKU during admission.

Get new scholarships by email

Verified opportunities and upcoming deadlines. You confirm by email; unsubscribe any time.

Privacy policy